What's new

Any Fellow Dispatchers on this Forum?

fsxflyhigh

What got you all into the job of flight dispatch? I always find it interesting to hear how different people found their way into this job. Plenty of kids aspire to be pilots, but not dispatch. I currently work with a regional airline in the US. My background is in meteorology and worked one semester as a meteorology intern with a major US airline. I really enjoyed working in the Operation Center and saw flight dispatch as the best way to stay in aviation while still using my fancy degree.

FlyerGirl

I have a dispatch license, but have not used it. My job used to limit our web usage to airline/aviation websites. With 5-10 min between calls I had time to look up lots of things. Dispatcher looked interesting. SallyMae gave me a loan and I arranged to be off for the 6 week class. So much fun! It helped my husband is a mechanic and I could ask him questions or more details on something.
I passed and obtained my license. September 11th happened a few days later. Decided to keep my current job and not search for a new job. Middle seniority is better than at the bottom somewhere else. Still at the same job and things are OK.

TL;DR: Read about dispatch online, obtained a license, but never used it.

kc0865

Yes, I've been dispatching for 10 years with major airline. I've been in aviation for 34 years working in various departments before landing in Dispatch.
It is a very rewarding career, one that took me a while to get to, but that is where I wanted to be almost from the beginning.
I've always liked working operations in the background.

oddtom

I recently got a Dispatch license too, but I don't have any leads on employment.